Skip to content

Hello everyone

August 29, 2009

I am Xavier Serra, one of the teachers of the course. I graduated from Stanford a long time ago and since then I have been teaching in the summer workshops at CCRMA, but this is the first time that I teach this course. This is very new for me and I am very enthusiastic about it. I hope to learn a lot from all of you.

This course is the result of my recent interest in soundscapes, in the concept of collaborative production, and in all the creative potential that the web 2.0 technologies are starting to offer. I started the Freesound.org site three years ago and since then very interesting things are happening around it and on topics related to it. I want to transmit my view about the creative opportunities that are being discovered by the integration of the computer music technologies with the large on-line sound repositories and with the large network communities. I want to share with you what I have learned in developing a number of projects around these ideas and I want to have an open discussion on where all this is going and about the changes of creative paradigm that we are living.

I am looking forward to the course and to meet you all.

…xavier

PS: To hear the sounds I have been recording this weekend around Campus and uploading to Freesound.org you can go here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

