Skip to content

Hello hello

September 3, 2009

I’m Atha.  I’m going to be a senior majoring in History and hopefully minoring in Economics.  I was born in Edmonton, Canada, and lived there til I was 6 years old.  Since then, I’ve lived briefly in Peoria, Illinois, and have spent most of my life in Walnut Creek (a suburb in the East Bay).

My musical journey started when my mom decided to take me along to piano lessons with my two older siblings.  She had me start the piano when I was around 4 years old.  Bad idea. I hated it and refused to practice, so I quit when I was 7.  I started getting musical again with the clarinet in 4th grade, but I ended up quitting after 6th grade.

I had never really considered myself musical, but when I was a freshman in high school, I decided that I was going to give music another try.  My mom had always said that I should try singing because I loved to scream/sing so much as a child, so I found a voice teacher through a classmate and signed up for lessons.  In high school, I also needed to fulfill an “arts” requirement, so I decided that since I already had a background in clarinet, I’d sign up for symphonic band.   I don’t know what took hold of me, but I started to really enjoy it, practice more and *gasp* improve.

Since getting to college, I haven’t played any clarinet but have continued voice lessons for a year and will take it up again this year.  I’ve also been dabbling with the acoustic guitar since the end of freshman year — my Seagull S6 rustic acoustic guitar is one of my most cherished belongings.  I love listening and dancing haphazardly to all kinds of music and singing/playing/writing random stuff.

I’m looking forward to exploring sound in new ways and learning more about the technology behind recording!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

