Skip to content

My name is Luke

September 4, 2009

hey y’all.

First off, let me apologize. I meant to do this intro earlier, but these past few days I’ve just been too excited about arts intensive, cross class collaboration, seeing people, raw food diets (im not on one, at least not yet), rooftops, logic pro, and these super crafty handheld recorder.

My musical background in order of instrumentation is flute, drums, guitar, harmonica, flute again, tamborine, piano, banjo, and, most recently,  the trumpet. I wouldn’t say I’m particularly masterful of any of them, but I’d definitely say I enjoy playing guitar most.

As for my musical tastes, I’ll give you a list of my most recent pleasures and inspirations: Kanye West, Bon Iver, Cat Stevens, Mexican Banda, Blue Scholars, Raffi, Sufjan Stevens, Beirut, Why?, and Taylor Swift.

I play solo and in a hip-hop group back home (all old songs but you can get the idea-ish).

My ideal world musical soundscape is one of international harmony, collaboration, non-consumerism, and diversity. I believe that everyone should have the opportunity to express themselves musically and find their audience.

As for me, I enjoy playing everywhere (streets, stage, studio, bedroom, mountains, trees, foreign lands, and rooves) and eventually would like to make a website not dissimilar to free sound called “streetscene,” or something along those lines, that would decontextualize and push forward/capture the beauty and viceral edge of live street performance.

~LuKe

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

