Skip to content

Soundscape: Automated Teller Machine (ATM)

September 8, 2009

While I was in India, I had a scary experience involving an ATM that would not give me my debit card back.  Only desperate pleading with the bank officials allowed me to retrieve my bank card.  During this experience, I noticed that the ATM makes a great many whirring, beeping and clicking sounds, all of which seem to be designed to mock the unsuspecting foreign traveler.  I also am considering using money as a theme for my piece for the end of the course, so this fits nicely within that framework.  For this assignment, I recorded sounds produced by several ATM machines on campus as well as sounds created with my ATM card.  I used the Bank of America ATM at Tresidder and the Stanford Federal Credit Union ATM off of Serra Street as my sound actors.

http://www.freesound.org/packsViewSingle.php?id=5133

Jesse

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 7:57 pm

    Nice pack, and a good contribution to Freesound. There were not good recordings of ATM machines. Well recorded and with good descriptions too. So excellent!

    …xavier

Leave a Reply

