Skip to content

Assignment 2: Microphones & Studio Recordings

September 14, 2009

1) Microphone Polar Pattern Variation

When I started, I chose to use the omnidirectional mic first. I did this to hear what is supposed be the most complete three-dimensional sphere of capturing sound. As such, when I rotated it around I was not able to hear any changes in the sound of the pink noise.

After that, I went on to try the bidirectional second. Its figure-eight pattern of pick-up was clearly defined when the mic was facing forwards or backwards, but then almost the opposite when it was perpendicular to the source of sound. There wasn’t much different between the timbres of these two mics.

From here I picked the cardioid microphone. This was interesting compared to the last two because as the sound died when the mic was facing away from the source, it was still able to register the noise when it was off-axis from a right angle more so than the bidirectional when it cut out at the perpendiculars.

Lastly, with the hypercardioid one, it was very close sounding to the regular cardioid’s ability to still pick up the noise a little past right angles. But, it took me a while to understand that it was more off-axis when backwards and not at the sides of the mic.

2) Headphones & Binaural Sound

When listening to our pairs of headphones in comparison to regular hearing, the biggest difference one finds is that while listening to the noise with just our ears we are primarily relying on the minute differences in the amount of time it takes for the sound waves to reach each ear. This is helped by our natural ability to disregard ambient background noise, but when we are using headphones this is negated. Though there are artificial delays and production techniques to create sounds in headphones that are close, we can still hear the difference and I believe this comes from having such a close proximity between our ears and the sounds’ points of origin.

3) Studio Sounds

I came into the studio to do my recordings without any particular theme or motif in mind, but I had a couple of items that throughout the day I thought of or heard that sounded like they could be interesting. I had my longboard, a deck of cards, a lighter and matches, a glass jar, a back massager, my keys and a metal case, and one very interesting rubber chicken Easter gift. Don’t ask. Here’s the link:

http://www.freesound.org/packsViewSingle.php?id=5186

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 2:01 pm

    Nice stereo effect on the sound Dealing Out Deck and on the Keys one. Well recorded.

    …xavier

Leave a Reply

